The Wrekin

The Wrekin Constituency forms a horseshoe shape to the east, north and west of the new town (and separate Parliamentary constituency) of Telford, in Shropshire.

The seat is named after a 1,335ft high volcanic hill which dominates the Shropshire landscape. The hill is the most visited tourist attraction in the ceremonial County of Shropshire.
The Wrekin is a mostly a rural constituency but the majority of the population lives in the market towns of Wellington, Newport, Shifnal, and the rural parish of Albrighton and wards on the outskirts of Telford.
The seat has a large agriculture sector; an important manufacturing sector; and is home to Harper Adams University College – a leading agricultural, farming, and managerial centre of excellence.
The seat is also home to several key military establishments including: RAF Cosford (one of the largest operational RAF bases in the world) and home to the Defence College of Aeronautical Engineering (DCAE); MOD Donnington - which is home to the Defence Support Group (DSG) - DSG is one of the largest defence equipment support providers in the country; the Defence Storage and Distribution Agency (DSDA), and the Army Base Repair Organisation (ABRO).
The district general hospital, the Princess Royal Hospital, is also located within The Wrekin parliamentary boundaries.
The Wrekin seat - falls within the municipal jurisdiction of two unitary local authorities: Shropshire Council; and Telford & Wrekin Borough Council. The seat is the only Parliamentary seat in the County of Shropshire to straddle both local authority boundaries.
Part of The Wrekin Parliamentary constituency still falls within the Diocese of Hereford. However, the majority of the seat falls within the Diocese of Lichfield, as does a large part of Shropshire.